In Series

As per usual, the gods of the Library Request Queue have given me all the books all at once. So lately I have had my nose buried in Lauren Destefano’s Sever (Book #3) and Laini Taylor’s Days of Blood and Starlight (Book #2.) (Incidentally, I’m not complaining here, just observing. The library request system is brilliant. Keep the books coming, library gods.)

I’m always a bit reluctant to embark on reading series especially in real time. (I’m including trilogies here. I get the idea of beginning/middle/end but is it too much to ask for them to all fit in the same book?) I’m always wary of commitments and I feel some obligation, having read Book #1 to read Books #2, #3, etc. which might be years away. Maybe I’ll be living in a colony on the Moon by then. Maybe I’ll be a secret agent busy reading top secret spy stuff. Maybe I won’t remember what that mysterious guy did with that mysterious box of mysterious stuff. Maybe I just won’t care any more.

Commitment-phobia aside, I did like both books. Finished one trilogy and will probably read the other Book #3 in due course. Sometimes commitment is scary, but sometimes it’s nice to know there’s more to come. Even if you kind of forget what happened at the beginning.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

