Fearless

One of the beautiful things about knitting is that if it doesn’t work out you can always rip it out and try again. I’ve ripped and re-knit entire sweaters  and you can’t even tell. How often do you get a do-over with no consequences? So I’m always a little puzzled when people talk about not being brave enough to try something. Who needs to be brave? Worst case scenario is that you rip it out or stick it in a closet and never speak of it again. Compare with worst case scenarios in, say, rock climbing or bungee jumping.

Okay, maybe the worst case scenario is that your yarn will spontaneously combust, leading to a catastrophic fire and you getting arrested for arson because no one believes you about the spontaneous part and boy howdy this knitting business sure is dangerous. I have never found “What’s the worst that can happen?” to be comforting. More like a challenge.

But if we discount spontaneous combustion and other esoteric hazards, I think the knitting technique with the greatest claim on scariness is probably the steek. Because it’s so final; you cut and, short of time travel, you can’t undo it.

A while ago, I was knitting a yoked cardigan. Being reckless -I mean fearless – I got out my scissors and cut.

IMG_1731

I’m using an unreinforced steek because my yarn is 60% mohair, a word which here means “sometimes you cannot rip if you try.”

Add some button bands and buttons (confession: it’s not the steek that took me this long, but buying and sewing on buttons) and

IMG_1822

Success!

Specs: This Drops pattern (er, well, my interpretation) yarn from Wellington Fibres in Leaf Green and Dark Purple. Incidentally, I love this yarn – it’s light, silky and slightly prickly.

I will now be waiting impatiently for sweater weather.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Victory is Mine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

