Codex

Far too often, I have the feeling that the world is really designed for someone else. Like, if I’m checking the bus schedule or trying on shoes, it usually seems like I really should be going somewhere else or have differently shaped arches. So I loved The Magicians by Lev Grossman because it seemed like it was written for someone like me.

I had at the back of my mind for ages to give Codex a try and while I can’t say it fits like a glove, it fits at least as well as some of my shoes. It starts off when Ed – who is a banker and not someone you would usually pick for this – is asked by a peculiar client to catalogue a library that’s essentially been sitting in the attic for years. And to find a manuscript that may or may not exist. Obviously he gets sucked into it. I am all in sympathy; if I were a banker I’d probably jump at just about any alternative that crossed my path.

While I wasn’t convinced that the stakes were all that high, it didn’t bother me since I would personally go on a mysterious manuscript hunt for no stakes at all. It’s the journey. He teams up with a grad student who makes me wonder why I’m not an expert on old books. He has a tech geek friend who makes me think I really should learn some more programming. There is some sneaking around after hours. (I love sneaking! Maybe I should become a cat burglar. Or a spy.)

I rather like the word Codex. I need to start working it into conversation.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Codex

  1. Your first paragraph made me smile — isn’t that one of the loveliest things about reading? How sometimes a book will seem to be altogether designed for you? I didn’t feel that way about The Magicians, but I came at least close to feeling it about the sequel, The Magician King.

Leave a Reply

