Oh, Jeeves

I mentioned my fondness for Sherlock Holmes the other day, and I have a similar fondness for Jeeves. Although the Jeeves books are jokier (lower body count lightens the mood, I guess) I think Jeeves is sort of like Sherlock Holmes would be if he was a valet.

I’ve been reading Carry On Jeeves by P. G. Wodehouse on the subway for the last few days. Good fun – goofy characters and zany schemes, although I do notice that a lot of Jeeves’s schemes can mostly be summed up as Tell Some Lies. Still, you can’t argue with results.

Also, there may be a serious moral in this one – don’t be dependent on an allowance from an eccentric relative for your living. You can tie yourself into crazy knots trying to stay in their good graces.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh, Jeeves

  1. I do truly prefer Psmith, but the Jeeves books are good fun. I think your moral is a sound one. One might be willing to depend on an eccentric relative for, like, subsidies. Like if you could have a job that would pay for your rent and car and groceries, and an eccentric relative gave you money that you used to buy Art and things. That would be perfect.

    • Yes! Exactly! Even as I was appreciating the moral, I was pondering whether I might have any long-lost wealthy, eccentric relatives because it sure sounds like I could have some fun before I was cut off.
      I haven’t read any Psmith – I keep meaning to.

Leave a Reply

