Sorrow’s Knot

Perhaps I’m just indecisive, but I finished reading Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow the other day and I still can’t decide if I liked it or not.

It’s creepy in a way that I liked. There are dead things in the woods and the worst of them are White Hands. You better not let them touch you or Bad Things Will Go Down For Sure.  It reminded me of this one time my dad told me a story about how hungry ghosts have long necks and it was so, so creepy but I couldn’t really explain why.  And he told me it was creepy because I knew it was true. Excellent.

And yet, I almost quit a few times (I didn’t because I didn’t have anything else to read with me.) But I think I liked it more after I finished than while I was reading. Hmmmm. Do I like it or not?

I think it’s the plot I have mixed feelings about. I liked the premise and the atmosphere and the characters, but it has one of those plots that go from bad to worse to more worse. It’s not like I require all sunshine and rainbows all the time but I do like there to be at least a few breaks in the bad news now and then.

I dunno, maybe switch it back and forth with a book of cupcake recipes or something?

Gratuitous footnote: WordPress is apparently under the impression I’m posting about neckties and suggests I tag this “Half-Windsor Knot.”

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sorrow’s Knot

  1. Hahaha, your gratuitous footnote made me giggle.

Leave a Reply

