Ah, Summer Vacation … Wait, No

Of late I’ve been trying to work through those loose-end projects that skulk around half finished and mocking me. There was that time with the button and that red sweater and now:

IMG_2121

Oh, another red cabled sweater. Hey, I like what I like. This is a simple cotton sweater that I started for summer vacation knitting, um, a couple of years ago, then put down when it got cold and finished over Christmas. (I think it may be a tactical error to schedule summer vacation in August. If I started these sweaters in July they’d probably stand a better chance of getting finished before fall.)

This one sat neglected for so long the gauge of the second sleeve is actually slightly different. Y’all, it’s a bad sign when you outgrow your gauge before you finish a sweater. (It turned out fine though. Once blocked I can’t tell which sleeve is which.) I’m not sure I’d pick this pattern now and I’m not convinced it’s super flattering, but I like it anyway. I’m particularly enamoured with the cables along the raglan seams.

Specs: Cotton Raglan with a bit of fudging for gauge/size, knit in Gedifra Mayra, a now-discontinued DK weight cotton/nylon blend.  Nice yarn except for all the damn knots.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Victory is Mine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ah, Summer Vacation … Wait, No

  1. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post!
    It is the little changes which will make the greatest changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

  2. I love the sweater! (And never mind about the sleeve — doesn’t it make you feel pleasingly like the story of “The Six Swans”? That’s what it would make me feel like.)

Leave a Reply

