Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

Do you ever pick up books that you kind of expect to hate? I don’t, as a general rule (no, I haven’t read 50 Shades) but then one day my fondness for unsexy vampires trumped my aversion to gimmicky premises and I picked up Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith.

So, one great thing about going in with low expectations is that you can easily be pleasantly surprised. It works better than I would have expected. And if I’m skeptical of “Add monsters” as a plot device, I’m actually a fan of “Fit a story in around history.”

Most of what I know about Lincoln and the Civil War comes from movies. (In my defense, I am Not American.) It goes “Something, something, Emancipation Proclamation, something, something, Gone With the Wind, something, something, reenactment with Confederate flags” right? I find myself wondering whether, if I had more background, I would find the book more clever and amusing or if obvious discrepancies would get under my skin. Although obviously the biggest discrepancy is right there on the front cover where it says Vampire Hunter.

(Unless you consider this a true story. In which case, I’m not quite ready to subscribe to your conspiracy theory.)

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

  1. Hahaha, you don’t need to defend not knowing too much about Abraham Lincoln. I learned all about him in school every year and I still don’t know that much about him. It all went right back out like water in a sieve because I just am not that interested in American history. (Sorry, home country! I love you in other ways!)

  2. Pingback: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies | Stitches & Marginalia

Leave a Reply

