The Taxidermist’s Daughter

Neither of my parents is a taxidermist (at least as far as I know) but I picked up Kate Mosse’s The Taxidermist’s Daughter based mostly on the title. (Also, I was looking for a  paperback for the train since I always end up with 45 pound hardcover library books then have to haul them around all weekend. I know the obvious solution is just get a Kindle or whatever but I have a general aversion to gadgets and try to minimize my ownership of them. I don’t understand the point of, say, rice cookers.)

Anyway, I am sort of skeeved out but also morbidly interested by taxidermy. I can mostly get behind dioramas at natural history museums which at least seem sort of dignified.  But a museum with taxidermied kittens dancing and ravens taking tea as described in the book? Yikes Like, is it a craft project or a corpse? It’s both! That’s … kind of weird mix. It’s the sort of hobby you would expect a serial killer to have.

And coincidentally, the book is pretty serial killer-y. I wanted it to be more moody and creepy what with all the taxidermy/churchyard gatherings/ominous weather. But it is pretty straight up murder-y. Olden times, young woman terribly wronged, vengeance with a side of taxidermy.

Eh, I dunno, I feel like I’ve seen this stuff a bunch of times already. Although usually without the taxidermy.

For your creepy taxidermy book needs you might want to check out The Love Curse of the Rumbaughs by Jack Gantos. I read it years ago and I still remember it was creepy as fuck.

 

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Taxidermist’s Daughter

  1. Hahaha, okay, well, I wasn’t thinking I needed a creepy taxidermy book, but you are making me think I really do, after all.

    My five-year-old cousin, who is an excellent kid on all fronts, got asked by her mother recently what she wanted for her birthday, and she said her top two choices of birthday gift were a chemistry set and a taxidermied fox. WHAT A COOL KID.

Leave a Reply

