Cables du Dauphiné

I don’t spin and have no plans to take it up but in July I suffer from fleeting sadness that I can’t do the Tour de Fleece. I actually do follow cycling. (Well, sort of. I got into it because it’s the perfect insomniac TV – hours of footage of people riding bikes, minimal concentration required, often aired at weird hours of the night.) And I do love a crazy knitting challenge. So this year I thought to myself, how about I do my own thing in honour of the Criterium du Dauphiné  – y’know, similar but different.

I thought of this plan while I was casting on a new sweater during the prologue, so it was not especially well thought out and has a couple of obvious problems:

1 – The connection with wheels and spinning isn’t there. As it happens I’m knitting a cabled sweater (Telluride Aran) so I’ve decided the cables represent winding roads. Best I can do at short notice.

IMG_2660

If that doesn’t remind you of biking through France I don’t know what will.

2 – The Dauphiné is way shorter than the tour (1 week vs 3) and there’s no way I’m going to finish. Today’s the last day and I have the front, back and part of a sleeve. (This is only possible because the back and sleeves are plain.) Maybe I can pull of some kind of unlikely come from behind win this afternoon? You never know if you don’t try.

How about Vest du Dauphiné  next year?

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cables du Dauphiné

  1. goodenoughcook says:

    I don’t spin either, and sometimes get wistful about it. I was going to learn and then a friend gave me a billion crochet hooks so I took up crocheting instead. It doesn’t look as nice but makes a fine blanket in half the time. I love the purple yarn you used in your sweater.

Leave a Reply

