All the Light We Cannot See

All the Light We Cannot See sounds like it might be about winter in Toronto. One assumes the sun is still working but it’s so cloudy you can’t really tell. I have a finished sweater and I was kind of waiting for some photoshoot sun, but you can’t see the light these days so I gave up and went the lazy selfie route:

img_2790

Simple sweater in Briggs & Little Regal, on of my most favouite rugged woolly yarns. I followed the pattern for Trust, although mostly just the yoke. It’s knit all together in the round; I’m not totally in love with the tops of the sleeve caps but I aim to master this so I can knit fair isle sweaters with set in sleeves.

Anyway, All the Light is not actually about me and my frivolous sweater adventures but about the Second World War. Which is to say, it’s pretty grim. Especially the Germany parts. I suppose you can consider it as a moral – even if you are Aryan (but especially if you are not) Nazi times are bleak and sad. Obviously you shouldn’t go down that road anyway on account of it’s wrong, but if that doesn’t dissuade you, here’s deterrent #2.

It’s well done, and I see why it’s popular but, man, it did not cheer me up on any cloudy winter bus rides. Why must Serious Litterchure always be so depressing?

What does cheer me up is Octopus Mittens! They just need thumbs. Details…

This entry was posted in Books, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All the Light We Cannot See

  1. salpal1 says:

    I agree- a good book but no redeeming light at the end of the tunnel. Nice sweater!!

  2. Oh my gosh, that sweater is beautiful! As always, you are a genius of knittery. Meanwhile Serious Literature continues to be grim because if a thing’s not grim, everyone refuses to believe it’s Serious. How did we come to such a pass?

Leave a Reply

