Kiki Strike

I’ve been in something of a reading slump lately, looking out the window on the bus instead of reading. (Alas, my commute is still not especially scenic.) Obvious solution is kids’ books!

Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City is so much more delightful than admiring the passing strip malls. Mysterious Kiki recruits girl scouts with cool secret agent skills to explore the forgotten Shadow City where disreputable characters used to gamble and smoke opium under New York City. Who doesn’t love a good secret passage? (Did you search your house for one? I know I did.) Although admittedly when I might prefer fewer skeletons and rats in my adventures. Universe, please take note.

Yes, it’s wildly implausible in spots but amusing enough that I don’t care. Do you think I can be a girl detective/secret agent/ninja when I grow up? Perhaps it was a mistake not to stick with Girl Guides.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kiki Strike

  1. Oh goody, I’m thrilled you enjoyed this! I thought about getting it for my little cousin last Christmas (she’s not that little, she’s about to be nine), but I didn’t have time to read it first and see if I liked it enough to buy it for her. Glad to be reminded that I should give it a try — she’s got a birthday coming up.

Leave a Reply

