Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

After being pleasantly surprised by Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter a while ago, I thought I’d give Pride and Prejudice and Zombies a try when I found it in the pile of cast off books in the laundry room. (Sadly it seems the people who had good taste in books have moved away. Lately someone has unloaded a lot of French grammar books. I don’t know how many editions of the Bescherelle have been published but there’s a pretty substantial percentage of them on offer downstairs.)

Anyway, I was feeling kind of optimistic about this one but alas, it meets the expectations I originally had for Abraham Lincoln. I mean, in a way I feel like I shouldn’t complain since it does what it says on the tin – yes indeed, there is Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Elizabeth and Darcy get together with occasional intervals to fight zombies or discuss same. But the zombie plot doesn’t go anywhere. They just kind of lurk in the background looking for brains and being a nuisance. It’s like the opposite of every action movie with the gratuitous and distracting love story. I hate that too.

Well, I guess maybe I’ll head to the laundry room and start working on my French. Hey neighbours, get better taste in literature.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

  1. Free books in the laundry room! How glorious! I have never had a laundry room with such an amenity — like, even if the books aren’t the best books in the world, that’s just a nice thing to have in your laundry room.

  2. I haven’t read Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter so I don’t know how it compares to that, but I did really like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Here is why:

    1) P&P is my favorite book
    2) P&P&Z Pretty much took the original story and inserted random Zombie attacks
    3) The original plot didn’t change by adding Zombies

    I understand that you didn’t like that the Zombie Plot didn’t go anywhere, but I thought that was part of its brilliance. It added action and zombies without really changing the original story. I thought it was pretty clever.

Leave a Reply

