Catch Up: Books

People always talk about summer like it’s all picnics and trips to the beach, but in my experience there’s usually a lot of days were it’s too hideously humid to go outside and I’m not going to hang out in the park in the hot sun. I’ll be sitting next to the air conditioner with a book instead. At least I’m getting lots of summer reading done.

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman: Do you have a hard time deciding whether you want to be a librarian or a secret agent? I mean, who doesn’t? Here you can be both and travel between alternate universes to collect books. As a bonus, hang out with a detective. Fun. Although the part with the silverfish is gross.

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson: Ursula mysteriously gets some life re-dos. And some of her lives really need do-overs. Set in the early twentieth century which does seem to lend itself to bad outcomes what with all the wars and stuff. I never much cared for the name Ursula but it kind of grew on me. Maybe one day I’ll have a cat called Ursula and call her Little Bear.

The Mermaid’s Daughter by Ann Claycomb: Ah, refreshing! The Little Mermaid with opera. Nifty premise although I didn’t buy the ending. But at least it doesn’t cut out the grim parts a la Disney. That’s the interesting part to me – how the mermaid makes some steep and perhaps ill-advised sacrifices.

Thick as Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner: Oh, how I love these books. Not my favourite so far but that is a pretty high bar.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

