Meanwhile….

I must be a slow learner because I always think vacation will mean so much knitting and reading and yet I’m always wrong. There’s too much else to do! Why do I keep wasting suitcase room on books and yarn?

But I do have some new socks:

Plain socks in Hedgehog Fibres Sock. The colour is called Dijon but it reminds me more of cake than mustard. You know, that yellow birthday cake with sprinkles in it? I may need to make some cake to go with my socks. As you do.

On the books front, The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter by Theodora Goss is one of those books that’s all about the premise. Lady monsters from classic literature (Jekyll & Hyde, Frankenstein, Dr Moreau, etc.) solve mysteries. With Sherlock Holmes. Fun! I don’t know what is says about me that there are so many classics I’ve never got to but apparently I’ve read all the monstery ones.

Back in the day I read the Little House books as a kid, and despite having not looked at them in years, Prairie Fires: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser was super fascinating. It’s sort of a behind the scenes look at Laura the person vs. Laura the character. Wouldn’t it be satisfying to rewrite your life the way it should have happened? In my memoirs I plan to always have perfect hair.

This entry was posted in Books, Knitting, Victory is Mine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meanwhile….

  1. salpal1 says:

    lol cake to go with socks. It should be a thing.

    The books sound interesting, especially the LIW one – I loved her books as a kid, and read them a lot. Have read them as an adult and though they seem simple, they are still good. I have done enough reading about her life to know that it was a lot harder than Big Woods Laura leads us to believe, but I am going in search of that book you mention, I would really enjoy reading it.

Leave a comment