Christmas Socks Are A Thing

In my family, Christmas socks are pretty much a requirement at Christmas. Once I showed up in insufficiently festive socks and was given socks to wear. So, for the last couple of Christmases I’ve been thinking I should make some Christmas socks. Despite being pretty well acquainted with how long knitting takes and when Christmas is scheduled, I always run out of time.

Not this year.

IMG_2089

I am ON IT. Oh wait, I think it’s customary to have two socks.

IMG_2095

It’s okay, I’ve got time.

Want to knit with me? I’m doing my own pattern here, which can pretty much be summed up as “Slap this chart on a 72 stitch sock” but I know some people like more explicit directions, so in the spirit of the season I have endeavored to write some.

Christmas Party Socks

Yarn: MC: 1 skein Lang Jawool Color Aktion (Wool/Nylon; 420m, 100g) CC: partial skein white sock yarn (I think mine is Regia? You will need about 15g)

Needles: set 2.0 mm DPNs (you may want to go up a size or two for the charted part if stranding tightens your gauge

Size: About 8″ circumference and as long as you want them to be

Gauge: 18 sts and 24 rows = 2″

Leg:

CO 72 sts and distribute evenly over needles. Join and work 1″ k2p2 rib in the round.

Knit 2 rounds, then switch to larger needles if using; join CC and work rounds 1-49 of chart. Break CC (Edited Nov.10/14 to correct # chart rounds.)

Switch back to smaller needles if necessary and knit 10 rounds or desired length until heel

Heel Flap:

Turn work; slip 1, p35. Heel is worked back and forth on these 36 sts; set aside remaining 36 sts for instep

Row 1: (slip 1, k1) 18 times
Row 2: slip 1, p35

Repeat Rows 1 and 2 18 times more

Turn Heel:

Slip 1, K19, ssk, k1, turn
Slip 1, p5, p2tog, p1, turn

Row 1: slip 1, k to 1 st before gap, ssk, k1, turn
Row 2: slip 1, p to 1 st before gap, p2tog, p1, turn

Repeat Rows 1 and 2 until all sts have been worked. 20sts remain.

Gusset:

Knit across 20 heel sts. Pick up and knit 20sts along side of heel; k36 instep sts; pick up and knit 20sts along other side of heel; k10 heel sts; mark beginning of round. 96 sts total.

Round 1: k to 3 sts before instep, k2tog, k1, k 36 instep sts, k1, ssk, k to end of rnd
Round 2: k all sts

Repeat rounds 1 and 2 11 more times. 72 sts remain.

Foot:

Work even until foot measures about 2″ less than desired length.

Toe:

Round 1: K to 3 sts before instep, k2tog, k2, ssk, k to last 3 sts of instep, k2tog, k2, ssk, k to end of round
Round 2: k all sts

Repeat rounds 1 and 2 10 more times. 28 sts remain
Graft toe.

Finishing:

Weave in ends. Block socks. (I don’t usually block my socks but, like lace, I think stranding really benefits from a good blocking.)

Chart:

ChristmasSocksChart

(NB: this looks upside-down because I’m making cuff-down socks.  If you want to make toe-up socks or anything bottom-up, flip it around.)

This entry was posted in Knitting, Patterns and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Christmas Socks Are A Thing

  1. Lesley Egden says:

    I’m knitting along with you! I needed a Christmas-y pattern for my Mum and there aren’t that many on Ravelry. Thanks so much for making this available!

  2. Pingback: advent 9 | Semi-Charmed Life

  3. Comment says:

    I like “slap this chart on a 72 stitch sock” just fine.

  4. Pingback: Christmas Socks: Now a Pair | Stitches & Marginalia

  5. Debra says:

    Thank you for this pattern!! I’m excited about making them for Christmas!

  6. Pingback: 41 Christmas Gift Knitting Patterns - The Knit Wit by Shair

  7. Pingback: Christmas Tree Knitting Patterns - The Knit Wit by Shair

  8. Marilyn New says:

    Is this available in print?

  9. Pingback: Talvised mustriga sokid

  10. Pingback: Winter Socks Knitting Pattern – Knitting

  11. Pingback: International Day of Veterinary Medicine – December 9, 2020 – Diane’s Corner

  12. Pingback: 30 Christmas Sock Patterns – Bernadette Makes

Leave a comment